Preparing for My First Book Signing

Okay, the daybook-signing-930x300 has come for my first book signing.  Yikes!

 

 

I will be signing copies of my book GIANNA THE GREAT1600x2400on August 8th, 2015 from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM at the Half Price Books in Garland, Texas. https://www.hpb.com/043/

As I try valiantly to prepare for this event I remember why I picked to do my first signing at Half Price Books.  My husband and I have been fans of Half Price Books since 1972 when we first married.  We would sell our RC bottles and take our pennies and go to the very first store on McKinney Avenue in Dallas. It was housed in an old laundromat.  They eventually moved across the street and then to Mockingbird and then landed on Northwest Highway in a building that was built like an old ship.  I enjoy all the stores, but I must admit that one was my favorite.  It had so many nooks and crannies.  It had a whole landing where great old books were housed that sold for $1.00.  Then they moved across the street to the old Sterling’s building where the Flagship store remains this day.   It’s nice and spacious and even has a coffee shop inside. It’s a great date place.   It’s been a wonderful journey greeting each new addition to the store family as though it were our own child.  We even make a point of looking for Half Price Books when we go on trips to other towns and we were over the moon when they finally opened on in Garland!

Anyway, I picked that store to do my first signing and the manager was kind enough to give me space and time to do it.  When the manager gave me a date and time I went from ecstatic to panicked.  What was I supposed to do at a book signing anyway?  So gratefully I looked around for tips from seasoned signers and have made my plans.  I’ve ordered my books, printed off flyers and bookmarks, have my pens ready and am buying candy (not to entice, just to share).  Still in the planning stages and I’m finally feeling happy about it.  See you there!

Half Price Books

https://www.hpb.com/043/

 

2 thoughts on “Preparing for My First Book Signing

Leave a Reply

